10685488_10154737013450055_551268053339777953_nI am highly addicted to jalapeno poppers but may never make them again after realizing how much easier these bites are to make.  And right now, easy is kind of necessary.  Next time I make them I am going to add some chopped, cooked bacon.  My hubby even suggested crab….with seasonings to taste like crab rangoon.  It is a great base that you could change up easily.

1 8 oz. package of softened cream cheese

2 c. grated Parmesan cheese

1 egg

4 jalapenos chopped (I remove the seeds and veins)

Combine all ingredients and roll about a tablespoon into a ball.  Roll in bread crumbs (I use Panko for the extra crunch).  Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees.  (I was not at home so I didn’t have parchment paper and even with spraying the pan they stuck a little so be careful removing them from the pan)  Cool just a little but serve warm.  They are AMAZING.

Note: because I didn’t have fresh jalapenos I used a jar of Tamed Jalapenos.  It wasn’t quite flavorful enough for me so I added Pensey’s Sandwich Sprinkle seasoning.  You could really add any seasoning you want to the basic cheese mixture.

Crab Rangoon bites

Use the same recipe above but instead of jalapeno use the following ingredients:

  • 1 clove garlic, minced

    1 (6 ounce) can crab meat, drained and flaked

    2 green onions with tops, thinly sliced

    2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

    1/2 teaspoon light soy sauce

  • Combine, roll in a ball, roll in bread crumbs and bake 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees

Now I’m wondering what other options would be good.  I saw the original recipe on Trisha Yearwood’s Food Network show.

