This is an amazing recipe.  Of course sour cream always makes anything wonderful but the little bit of lemon juice really changes this recipe up…..don’t leave it out.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp.vanilla
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups bananas(mashed)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup of chopped nuts

Preparation:

Cream the butter with the sugar, add extract and eggs, one at a time, then add bananas. Sift all dry ingredients, add to wet ingredients, alternately with sour cream, fold in nuts.

Bake in two greased (or spray with nonstick coating) loaf pans at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes. Makes two loaves.

Candy’s Note:
This is an excellent recipe. I have been making it for a long time.

When I have bananas that look kind of over-ripe, and I don’t have time to bake my breads right away, I take the bananas and put in the freezer, skin and all. When I am ready to bake, I thaw bananas, and presto, they are nice and soft, so there is very little mashing to be done.

